To our valued clients:
Please be assured that we are prepared to fully operate remotely and continue handling your legal needs during this time. If you are a current or new client, please call our office at (518) 374-8494 and someone will return your call as soon as possible.

Around-the-Clock Availability
Free Consultations 518.299.0314
Serving the Capital Region Since 1948 Outstanding and Experienced Legal Representation

Underage DWI Attorneys in Schenectady, NY

Ready to Protect Your Rights, Reputation & Freedom

All drivers—including those who are under 21 years of age—in New York are subject to the state’s DWI laws that prohibit drunk and drugged driving. If an underage driver is convicted of DWI, he/she will face serious criminal penalties such as license suspension, fines, and potentially a jail sentence. With a DWI conviction on a criminal record, it can be extremely difficult to find a job, apply to college, or take advantage of other opportunities in life.

If you or a loved one has been arrested for an underage DWI in Schenectady, let DeLorenzo, Grasso & Dalmata, LLP help you obtain the best possible outcome in your case. Our legal team can thoroughly assess your case, determine all your legal options, and help you either get your entire case dismissed or your charges or penalties reduced to avoid serving any time behind bars.

Do not hesitate to call (518) 299-0314 or fill out our online contact form today to schedule a free consultation.

New York Underage DWI Laws

Since anyone under 21 years old cannot legally consume, purchase, or possess alcohol, underage drivers are prohibited from driving after consuming alcohol. Therefore, the legal limit for underage drivers is .02 percent, rather than .08 percent for drivers who are at least 21.

If an underage driver is arrested for DWI with a blood alcohol content (BAC) between .02 percent and less than .08 percent, a conviction is punishable by driver's license suspension for six months and a fine of up to $125. A second offense carries license suspension for one year or until the driver reaches 21 years of age (which occurs last) and a maximum fine of $125.

On the other hand, if an underage driver’s BAC is at least .08 percent or operating a vehicle while impaired by alcohol to a significant degree, they will face the standard DUI penalties. A first DWI offense carries a maximum jail sentence of 15 days, fines of up to $500, and driver’s license suspension for one year.

Schedule a Free Consultation Today

Since the penalties for an underage DWI conviction can be harsh, it is important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to defend you from start to finish. Our firm has decades of experience handling a wide range of DWI cases throughout the State of New York.

Contact us today at (518) 299-0314 to discuss your case with our Schenectady underage DWI lawyers.

The Benefits of Having Our Team in Your Corner

  • Experience

    Collectively, we've been practicing law for over 150 years and have been named among the most experienced law firms in the Capital Region Business Review.

  • Trial Lawyers

    We've had extensive trial experience with all types of personal injury cases, recovering millions for our clients in both settlements and verdicts.

  • Peer Recognition

    Other attorneys come to us for counsel, as we teach numerous seminars and conferences each year.

  • 24/7 Availability

    We are wholly dedicated to our clients' needs, offering availability 24/7 to take care of any legal matters.